Het verhaal

Review: Volume 35 - Militaire geschiedenis

Review: Volume 35 - Militaire geschiedenis


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

De wapens en bepantsering van de Schotse krijger omvatten enkele van de beroemdste en meest herkenbare wapens uit de geschiedenis. Van het machtige Claymore tweehandige zwaard tot het kleine sghian dubh, deze oorlogsinstrumenten hebben de militaire geschiedenis van Schotland een onderscheidende smaak gegeven. Gedragen door mannen als William Wallace, Robert the Bruce en Bonnie Prince Charlie en gebruikt op de slagvelden van Stirling Bridge, Bannockburn, Flodden en Culloden, zijn ze symbolen geworden van het Schotse erfgoed en de nationale identiteit.

In de slag bij Culloden Moor op 16 april 1746 kreeg de Jacobitische zaak een dodelijke slag toegebracht. De macht van de Highland clans was gebroken. En het beeld van met zwaard zwaaiende Hooglanders die op een loden regen afstormen, afgeleverd door de roodgecoate bataljons van het Hannoveraanse leger, is een legende geworden. De slag was beslissend - het was een keerpunt in de Britse geschiedenis. En toch wordt onze perceptie van deze kritieke episode vaak verward door verkeerde, soms partijdige opvattingen over de gebeurtenissen op het slagveld. Dus, wat is er echt gebeurd in Culloden? In dit fascinerende en originele boek heroverweegt een team van vooraanstaande historici en archeologen elk aspect van de strijd. Ze onderzoeken het laatste historische en archeologische bewijs, stellen elke veronderstelling in vraag en herschrijven het verhaal van de campagne tot in levendige details. Dit is de eerste keer dat zo'n vooraanstaand team van experts zich concentreert op één enkele Britse strijd. Het resultaat is een baanbrekende studie van het onderwerp, en het is een mijlpaalpublicatie van slagveldarcheologie.

De eenvoudige kastelen die na de Normandische verovering werden opgericht, waren in de 11e en 12e eeuw ontwikkeld, terwijl de introductie van islamitische en Byzantijnse vestingtechnieken vanaf het einde van de 12e eeuw leidde tot verdere ontwikkelingen in de kasteelarchitectuur. Deze vestingwerken zouden in de loop van de 13e eeuw goed op de proef worden gesteld toen Engeland werd verscheurd door het conflict, gekenmerkt door langdurige belegeringen, tussen de monarchie en machtige magnaten. Kastelen waren niet alleen de focus voor oorlogvoering, maar werden ook steeds meer de centra van hun gemeenschappen, die een meer permanente basis vormden voor de heer, zijn familie en bedienden, en ook als centra voor gerechtigheid en bestuur fungeerden.

Alexander de Grote is een van de beroemdste mannen in de geschiedenis, en velen geloven dat hij het grootste militaire genie aller tijden was (Julius Caesar huilde aan de voeten van zijn standbeeld uit jaloezie voor zijn prestaties). Het grootste deel van zijn dertienjarige regeerperiode als koning van Macedonië werd besteed aan harde campagnes die de helft van de bekende wereld veroverden, waarin hij nooit werd verslagen in een open veldslag en nooit een stad belegerde die hij niet had ingenomen. Maar hoewel er veel biografieën over Alexander zijn, zijn er relatief weinig volledige boeken gewijd aan het Macedonische leger die zijn oogverblindende veroveringen mogelijk hebben gemaakt en die zichzelf de meest formidabele machine van die tijd hebben bewezen. Stephen English onderzoekt elk aspect van de Macedonische strijdkrachten en analyseert de rekrutering, uitrusting, organisatie, tactiek, bevel en controle van de gevechtswapens (inclusief de beroemde snoekfalanxen, elite Hypaspists en onvergelijkbare Companion cavalerie), enkele van Alexander's beroemdste veldslagen en belegeringen worden in detail beschreven om het leger in actie te laten zien. Met forensische grondigheid put hij uit recent archeologisch bewijs en geleerdheid om een ​​gedetailleerd portret van het leger te presenteren dat een superioriteit over zijn tegenstanders bewees die gelijk is aan (maar veel duurzamer is dan) die genoten door de Duitse troepen in de blitzkrieg-campagnes van 1939/40 . De marine van Alexnader is ook gedekt.


Boek recensies

Dement, Sidney Eric. Poesjkin's monument en toespeling: gedicht, standbeeld, uitvoering. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 2019. xii + 275 pp. $ 75,00. ISBN 978-1-4875-0552-3.

Guay, Robert E., uitg. Dostojevski's misdaad en straf: filosofische perspectieven. Oxford Studies in filosofie en literatuur. New York: Oxford University Press, 2019. xv + 220 pp. $24.95 (papier). ISBN: 978-0-19-046402-8

Shkandrij, Myroslav. Avant-garde kunst in Oekraïne, 1910-1930: omstreden geheugen. Boston: Academic Studies Press, 2018. 202 pp. $ 99,00. ISBN 978-1-6181-1975-9.

Ament, Suzanne. Zing voor de overwinning! Lied in de Sovjet-samenleving tijdens de Tweede Wereldoorlog. Brighton, MA: Academic Studies Press, 2019. xxii + 301 pp. $109.00. ISBN 978-1-61811-839-4.

Fairclough, Pauline. Kritieke levens van Dmitri Sjostakovitsj. Londen: Reaktion Books, 2019. 190 pp. £ 11,99 (papier). ISBN 978-1-78914-127-4.

Morse, Ainsley, Maria Vassileva en Maya Vinokur, eds. Linor Goralik: Found Life: gedichten, verhalen, strips, een toneelstuk en een interview. Russische bibliotheek. New York: Columbia University Press, 2017. xvii + 377 blz. $ 14,95 (papier). ISBN 978-0-2311-8351-2.

Salys, Rimgaila, uitg. The Contemporary Russian Cinema Reader, 2005-2016. Boston: Academic Studies Press, 2019. 402 pagina's. $ 29,95 (papier). ISBN 978-1-6181-1964-3.

Tihanov, Galin. De geboorte en dood van literaire theorie: regimes van relevantie in Rusland en daarbuiten. Stanford: Stanford University Press, 2019. xiv + 258 pp. $ 60,00. ISBN 978-0-8047-8522-8.

Kostetskaja, Anastasia. Russische symboliek op zoek naar transcendentale vloeibaarmaking: iconiserende emotie door tijd, media en de zintuigen te vermengen. Crosscurrents: Russische literatuur in context. Lanham: Lexington Books, 2019. xxviii + 156 pp. $ 90,00. ISBN 978-1-4985-9182-9.

Reese, Kevin. Celestial Hellscapes: Kosmologie als de sleutel tot de sciencefiction van de Strugatskii. Boston: Academische Studies Press, 2019. 278 blz. $109.00. ISBN 978-1-6181-1979-7.

Lenkhoff, Geil [Gail Lenhoff]. Kniaz' Feodor Chernyi v russkoi istorii en kul'ture: Issledovanie in teksty. Moskou: Al'ian-Arkheo, 2019. 350 pp. R750.00. ISBN 978-5-98874-168-8.

Halperin, Charles J. Ivan de Verschrikkelijke: vrij om te belonen en vrij om te straffen. Pittsburgh: University of Pittsburgh Press, 2019. 360 pp. $ 45,00. ISBN 978-0-8229-4591-8.

Berelovich, Vladimir, Vladislav Rzheutskii en Igor' Fediukin, eds. Ideal vospitaniia dvorianstva v Evrope, XVII-XIX veka. Historia Rossica. Moskou: Novoe literaturnoe obozrenie, 2018. 492 pp. R320.00. ISBN 978-5-444-80780-4.

Libbey, James K. Grondslagen van de Russische militaire vlucht, 1885-1925. Annapolis: Naval Institute Press, 2019. xii, + 244 pp. $ 38,00. ISBN 978-1-68247-423-5.

Lomb, Samantha. De grondwet van Stalin: participatieve Sovjetpolitiek en de bespreking van de ontwerpgrondwet van 1936. Londen: Routledge, 2018. xiii + 178 pp. $ 101,47. ISBN 978-1-138-72184-5.

Waterlow, Jonathan. Het is maar een grap, kameraad! Humor, vertrouwen en het dagelijks leven onder Stalin. Oxford: n.p., 2018. xxii + 285 pp. £ 14,99 (papier). ISBN 978-1-9856-3582-1.

Rimmington, Anthony. Stalin's geheime wapen: de oorsprong van de biologische oorlogsvoering van de Sovjet-Unie. New York: Oxford University Press, 2018. xiv + 262 pp. $ 45,00. ISBN 978-0-19-092885-8.

Launius, Roger D. Naar de maan reiken: een korte geschiedenis van de ruimtewedloop. New Haven: Yale University Press, 2019. viii + 248 blz. $ 30,00. ISBN 978-0-300-23046-8.

Pazderka, Josef, ed. De Sovjet-invasie van Tsjecho-Slowakije in 1968: het Russische perspectief. Harvard Koude Oorlog Studies. Lanham: Lexington Books, 2019. xvi + 288 blz. $ 95,00. ISBN 978-1-7936-0292-3.

Bykova, Marina F., en Vladislav A. Lektorsky, eds. Filosofisch denken in Rusland in de tweede helft van de 20e eeuw: een eigentijdse kijk vanuit Rusland en het buitenland. New York: Bloomsbury Academic, 2019. xii + 430 pp. $ 176,00. ISBN 978-1-3500-4058-8.

Hudson, Jennifer M. IJzeren Gordijn Twitchers: Russisch-Amerikaanse Koude Oorlogsrelaties. Lanham: Lexington Books, 2019. xxx + 338 blz. $ 115,00. ISBN 978-1-4985-5926-3.

Lakhtikova, Anastasia, Angela Brintlinger en Irina Glushchenko. Doorgewinterd socialisme: geslacht en voedsel in het dagelijkse leven van de late Sovjet-Unie. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 2019. xvii + 373 blz. $ 35,00 (papier). ISBN 978-0-253-04096-1.

Siegelbaum, Lewis H. Vastgelopen op communisme: Memoir of a Russian Historicus. Slavische, Oost-Europese en Euraziatische Studies. Ithaca: Northern Illinois University Press, 2019. x + 202 pp. $ 27,95 (papier). ISBN 978-1-5017-4737-3.

Sociale wetenschappen, hedendaags Rusland en andere

Schechter, Brandon M. The Stuff of Soldiers: Een geschiedenis van het Rode Leger in de Tweede Wereldoorlog door middel van objecten. Battlegrounds: Cornell Studies in militaire geschiedenis. Ithaca: Cornell University Press, 2019. xxvi + 315 blz. $ 36,95. ISBN 978-1-5017-3979-8.

Epstein, Michail. The Phoenix of Philosophy: Russische denken van de late Sovjet-periode (1953-1991). New York: Bloomsbury Academic, 2019. viii + 300 pp. $ 120,00. ISBN 978-1-5013-1639-5.

Reddaway, Peter. The Dissidents: A Memoir of Working with the Resistance in Russia, 1960-1990. Washington: Brookings Institution Press, 2019. vii + 316 blz. $ 29,99. ISBN 978-0-8157-3773-5.

Kovalev, Andrei. Het doodlopende einde van Rusland: getuigenis van een insider van Gorbatsjov tot Poetin. Vertaald door Steven I. Levine. Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, 2017. xliv + 347 blz. $24.95 (papier). ISBN 978-1-64012-233-8.

Grant, Thomas D. Internationaal recht en de post-Sovjet-ruimte I: essays over Tsjetsjenië en de Baltische staten. Sovjet- en post-Sovjet-politiek en samenleving 199. Stuttgart: ibidem-Verlag, 2019. xxxv + 405 pp. $ 50,00 (papier). ISBN 978-3-83821-279-1.

Grant, Thomas D. Internationaal recht en de post-Sovjet-ruimte II: essays over Oekraïne, interventie en non-proliferatie. Sovjet- en post-Sovjet-politiek en samenleving 200. Stuttgart: ibidem-Verlag, 2019. xlii + 480 pp. $ 50,00 (papier). ISBN 978-3-83821-280-7.

Nordenman, Magnus. De nieuwe strijd om de Atlantische Oceaan: opkomende concurrentie met Rusland in het hoge noorden. Annapolis: Naval Institute Press, 2019. xv + 244 pp. $ 38,00. ISBN 978-1-68247-285-5.

Güney, Nurşin Ateşoğlu, ed. De nieuwe geopolitieke realiteit voor Rusland: van de Zwarte Zee tot de Middellandse Zee. Lanham: Lexington Books, 2019. xviii + 143 pp. $ 90,00. ISBN 978-1-7936-0244-2.

Van der Pijl, Kees. Vlucht MH17, Oekraïne en de nieuwe Koude Oorlog: Prism of Disaster. Geopolitieke economie. Manchester: Manchester University Press, 2018. 208 blz. £ 18,99. ISBN 978-1-5261-3109-6.

Rubin, Dominicus. Ruslands moslimhartland: de islam in het tijdperk van Poetin. Londen: Hurst and Company, 2018. xi + 345 pp. $ 29,95. ISBN 978-1-84904-896-5.

Adamsky, Dmitry. Russische nucleaire orthodoxie: religie, politiek en strategie. Stanford: Stanford University Press, 2019. 376 blz. $ 30,00. ISBN 978-1-5036-0864-1.

Medvedev, Sergej. De terugkeer van de Russische Leviathan. New York: Polity Books, 2019. 250 pp. $ 69,95. ISBN 978-1-5095-3604-7.

Rowley, Alison. Poetin Kitsch in Amerika. Quebec: McGill-Queen's University Press, 2019. ix + 197 pp. $ 27,95. ISBN 978-0-7735-5901-1.

Smit, Mark B. De angst voor Rusland: en hoe de geschiedenis het kan oplossen?. New York: Oxford University Press, 2019. xxv + 480 blz. $29.95. ISBN 978-0-1908-8605-9.


SIAM-beoordeling

Dit verklarende artikel onderzoekt de relaties tussen een aantal algoritmen voor het oplossen van eigenwaardeproblemen, waaronder de machtsmethode, subruimte-iteratie, het $QR$-algoritme en de Arnoldi- en symmetrische Lanczos-algoritmen. Het symmetrische Lanczos-algoritme blijkt identiek te zijn aan de drietermrecursie (Stieltjes-procedure) voor het berekenen van orthogonale veeltermen met betrekking tot een maat op de reële lijn. Het verband tussen maten op de lijn en symmetrische tridiagonale (Jacobi) matrices wordt onderzocht. Als een dergelijke matrix wordt getransformeerd door een stap van het $QR$-algoritme, is er een overeenkomstige transformatie in de maat. De tridiagonale matrices worden ook gebruikt voor de constructie van Gauss-kwadratuurformules voor metingen op de lijn. De ontwikkelingen op de echte lijn worden gerepliceerd met geschikte aanpassingen op de eenheidscirkel via Lanczos-achtige procedures voor unitaire operators. De bekendste procedure van dit type is de recursie van Szego voor het berekenen van orthogonale veeltermen op de eenheidscirkel. De benadering die in dit artikel wordt gevolgd, is om recursies te ontwikkelen die orthogonale Laurent-polynomen (rationele functies) berekenen in plaats van polynomen. Deze recursie wordt vervolgens gewijzigd om de Szegö-recursie op te leveren.


Technologie en het Westen

Deze brede bloemlezing geeft een beknopt overzicht van de technologie in de westerse beschaving. De eenentwintig zorgvuldig geselecteerde artikelen en overzichtsessays tonen de complexe relatie tussen technologische en sociale verandering van de oudheid tot het heden. Specifieke onderwerpen zijn onder meer de oorsprong van hedendaagse sociale en politieke instellingen in de irrigatiebeschavingen van de oudheid, technologie en het leger, populaire percepties van de vroege industriële revolutie in Europa, het verschil tussen uitvinding en innovatie, de rol van de overheid bij de ontwikkeling van technologie, de aard van technische expertise, kernenergie en het milieu.

Algemene lezers en studenten zullen deze collectie toegankelijk en boeiend vinden.

Inleiding door Terry S. Reynolds, Stephen H. Cutcliffe.
Overzicht: technologie en geschiedenis: "Kranzbergs wetten"
Melvin Kranzberg
Technologie en het Westen door de industriële revolutie van Groot-Brittannië (tot ca. 1850)
Technologie in het pre-industriële westen
Terry S. Reynolds, Stephen H. Cutcliffe.
De eerste technologische revolutie en zijn lessen
Peter F. Drucker
Griekse katapulten en katapulttechnologie: wetenschap, technologie en oorlog in de antieke wereld
Barton C. Hacker
De technische wet: de uitvindingsdaad: oorzaken, contexten, continuïteiten en gevolgen
Lynn White Jr
Luchtvervuiling en brandstofcrisis in pre-industriële Londen, 1250-1650
William H. Te Brake
De vervanging van de handboog door vuurwapens in het Engelse leger
Thomas Esper
Over de sociale verklaring van technische verandering: het geval van de Portugese maritieme expansie
John Law
Musketten en slingers: Benjamin Robins, Leonhard Euler en de ballistische revolutie
Brett D. Steele
De filosofie van het luddisme: de zaak van de wollen arbeiders uit het westen van Engeland, ca. 1790-1809
Adrian J. Randall
Wegen, spoorwegen en kanalen: technische keuzes in het 19e-eeuwse Groot-Brittannië
Francis T. Evans
De uitbreiding en verspreiding van westerse industriële technologie (ca. 1850 tot heden)
Technologie en het industriële westen
Terry S. Reynolds, Stephen H. Cutcliffe.
Economische ontwikkeling en de overdracht in technologie: enkele historische perspectieven
Nathan Rosenberg
De wapens van het westen: militaire technologie en modernisering in het 19e-eeuwse China en Japan
Barton C. Hacker
De 'industriële revolutie' in huis: huishoudelijke technologie en sociale verandering in de 20e eeuw
Ruth Schwartz Cowan
De ontwikkeling van de dieselmotor
Lynwood Bryant
De opkomst van fundamenteel onderzoek in het Bell-telefoonsysteem, 1875-1915
Lillian Hoddeson
Flexibiliteit en massaproductie in oorlog: vliegtuigfabricage in Groot-Brittannië, de Verenigde Staten en Duitsland, 1939-1945
Jonathan Zeitlin
Spage-Age Europa: gaullisme, Euro-gaullisme en het Amerikaanse dilemma
Walter A. McDougall
Kernenergie en het milieu: de commissie voor atoomenergie en thermische vervuiling, 1965-1971
J. Samuel Walker


Osiris, Deel 35

Sinds de vroegmoderne tijd speelt de wetenschap een steeds grotere rol in de gezondheidszorg, de landbouw, de regulering van de handel in voedsel en dranken en de standaardisatie van voedingsrichtlijnen. Maar tot nu toe hadden maar weinig studies de historische processen onderzocht waardoor wetenschappelijke beweringen over kennis de macht kregen om voedselvoorzieningsketens en consumentenkeuzes vorm te geven. dit volume van Osiris onthult hoe voedselwetenschappen zijn geïnformeerd door, en op hun beurt hebben geholpen om vorm te geven, een reeks instellingen, arbeidsregimes, culturele praktijken en ethische verplichtingen.

De essays gaan in op een reeks onderwerpen, van vroegmoderne diëtetiek en debatten over kannibalisme tot moderne kant-en-klare rantsoenen en ayurvedische recepten, van analyses van hongerige modelorganismen tot de eetrituelen van ondernemers in Silicon Valley en hun klanten. Als Eten is belangrijk laat zien, heeft de geschiedenis van kennis over voedsel altijd aanleiding gegeven tot discussies over de verschuivende definitie en grenzen van expertise: tussen traditionele recepten en experimentele protocollen tussen huishoudelijke vaardigheden en laboratoriumprocedures tussen het beheer en de herverdeling van middelen voor het sociale lichaam enerzijds, en de subjectieve ervaringen van individuele lichamen anderzijds. Op een moment dat de autoriteit van de wetenschap door verschillende publieken in twijfel wordt getrokken, Eten is belangrijk is een tijdige herinnering dat dergelijke spanningen, die altijd aanwezig zijn in voedselgerelateerde domeinen, een weerspiegeling zijn van bredere historische ontwikkelingen waardoor de wetenschap een dominante kracht werd bij het vormgeven van alle aspecten van het openbare en privéleven.

Over de deugden van historische entomofagie
E.C. Spary en Anya Zilberstein

Een natuurlijke geschiedenis van de keuken
Anita Guerrini

Geloof verteren: God, mens en vlees eten in het zeventiende-eeuwse Rome
Bradford Bouley

Voedsel, bevolking en rijk in de Hartlib-cirkel, 1639 & ndash1660
Ted McCormick

Percepties van herkomst: opvattingen over wijn, gezondheid en plaats in Louis XIV & rsquos Frankrijk
Alissa Aron

Waarom water drinken? Dieet, materialisme en Brits imperialisme
Joyce E. Chaplin

De vorm van vlees: dierlijk vlees bewaren in het Victoriaanse Groot-Brittannië
Rebecca J.H. Woods

De introductie van chemische kleurstoffen in voedsel in de negentiende eeuw
Caroline Cobbold

De technopolitiek van voedsel: het geval van Duits gevangenisvoedsel van de late achttiende tot de vroege twintigste eeuw
Ulrike Thoms

Nutritionele moderniteit: de Duitse zaak
Corinna Treitel

Het wetenschappelijke leven van chicha: De productie van een gefermenteerde drank en het maken van deskundige kennis in Bogota, 1889 & ndash1939
Stefan Pohl-Valero

Historiserende & ldquo Indiase kennissystemen & rdquo: Ayurveda, exotische voedingsmiddelen en hedendaagse antihistorische holismen
Projit Bihari Mukharji

Lokaal voedsel en transnationale wetenschap: nieuwe grensproblemen van de rupsschimmel in het Republikeinse China
Di Lu

Honger, denken met dieren: psychologie en geweld aan het begin van de twintigste eeuw
Dana Simmons

De Tweede Wereldoorlog en de zoektocht naar tijdongevoelig voedsel
Deborah Fitzgerald

Meat Mimesis: in het laboratorium gekweekt vlees als een studie bij het kopiëren
Benjamin Aldes Wurgaft

Ontbijt bij Buck's: Informaliteit, Intimiteit en Innovatie in Silicon Valley
Steven Shapin


OP DIA GEBASEERDE WERKEN VERZAMELEN

Het komt zelden voor dat de aankoop van een op dia's gebaseerd kunstwerk in een collectie van een museum voor schone kunsten bestaat uit unieke originelen in de camera, aangezien deze werken meestal als edities worden verkocht en de kunstenaar de hoofddia's doorgaans behoudt. Een veelvoorkomend scenario is dat musea een aantal sets dia's zullen verkrijgen die duplicaten van de eerste generatie zijn van het origineel in de camera, met een aanvullende clausule in het kunstenaarscertificaat dat toekomstige kopieën bij de kunstenaar moeten worden aangevraagd. Vaak wordt aangenomen dat het museum de ter beschikking gestelde duplicaten zal gebruiken.

De kwaliteit van de dia's die een museum ontvangt varieert. Een kunstenaar als James Coleman heeft een archivaris in dienst en zijn dia's worden strak beheerd en bewaard onder gecontroleerde omgevingsomstandigheden. Al zijn foto's zijn gemaakt op identieke dia's met dezelfde camera. De duplicaten van glaasjes die deel uitmaken van de acquisitie worden geproduceerd als drie identieke sets die tegelijkertijd worden gemaakt, met hetzelfde papier en dezelfde kopieermachine.

Werken van andere kunstenaars kunnen op een meer ad hoc manier worden geproduceerd en onder minder strikt gecontroleerde omstandigheden worden gemaakt en opgeslagen. Het is niet onbekend dat dia's die de masterset van de kunstenaar vormen, zijn gebruikt voor weergave en vervaagd of beschadigd zijn. Duplicaten die hieruit zijn genomen voor volgende tentoonstellingen, worden geproduceerd door verschillende laboratoria op verschillende voorraad en het is van deze dia's dat vaak een selectie wordt gemaakt en aan het museum wordt gegeven als onderdeel van de aankoop.

Deze zeer verschillende scenario's kunnen wijzen op het falen van een commerciële galerij om te begrijpen wat er komt kijken bij het beheer van deze werken of de verschillende artistieke context waarin deze kunstwerken zijn gemaakt. Zoals eerder in dit artikel is aangegeven, kunnen dia's in sommige gevallen door de kunstenaar zijn gekozen als een nauwkeurig esthetisch visueel medium, terwijl ze in andere gevallen meer als hulpmiddel voor documentatie zijn gebruikt, zoals in bijvoorbeeld de context van conceptuele kunstpraktijken. Wanneer dia's meer zijn gebruikt als een hulpmiddel voor documentatie dan als een nauwkeurig esthetisch medium, is het misschien gebruikelijker dat de productie en het beheer van zowel de originele masterdia's als hun verdubbeling minder nauwkeurig is beheerd.

Interviews met kunstenaars zijn een standaardinstrument van de hedendaagse conserveringspraktijk. Deze interviews zijn formele momenten in een voortdurende dialoog tussen de kunstenaar en het museum die vaak jarenlang duurt. Het eerste interview wordt gewoonlijk afgenomen tussen conservatoren en de kunstenaar wanneer een werk in de collectie komt, gevolgd door het tweede interview op het moment dat het werk wordt gevraagd om tentoongesteld te worden. Tijdens deze interviews is het essentieel dat de teloorgang van de 35 mm-technologie wordt besproken, zodat restauratoren met deze kunstenaars kunnen samenwerken om de betekenis van diatechnologie voor hun werken beter te begrijpen en om plannen te maken voor de toekomst van het werk.


Een verfoeilijk verhaal

Een verhalende geschiedenis vanaf het hoogtepunt van Hitlers macht tot aan zijn ondergang.

Zo'n 75 jaar na hun overlijden zijn Hitler en het Derde Rijk nu aantoonbaar grotere zaken dan ze ooit zijn geweest. Hun verhaal domineert nog steeds de televisiegeschiedenis, terwijl populaire geschiedenispublicaties schijnbaar net zo afhankelijk zijn als altijd van het opnieuw verpakken en doorverkopen van het onheilspellende verhaal van de voormalige Boheemse korporaal en zijn acolieten.

Met dat in gedachten is het interessant om de komst van het tweede deel van Frank McDonough's te noteren De Hitlerjaren, waarbij de gebeurtenissen vanaf het begin van 1940 – met Hitler aantoonbaar op het hoogtepunt van zijn macht – tot aan die grimmige ondergang in 1945. McDonough, een professor internationale geschiedenis aan de John Moores University in Liverpool, is de auteur van een aantal uitstekende monografieën over bijvoorbeeld de Gestapo, of de aanloop naar de oorlog in 1939.

De Hitlerjaren markeert echter iets van een vertrek, gericht op een meer populaire markt, met een rechttoe rechtaan chronologisch verhaal dat - hoewel gebaseerd op de academische achtergrond van de auteur - niettemin zijn expertise lichtvaardig draagt. Het resultaat is een indrukwekkend boekdeel, prachtig gepresenteerd, met een groot aantal illustraties.

Het verhaal van McDonough ratelt voort, is voortdurend boeiend en verhelderend en gelukkig vrij van opgeblazen academisch jargon en modieuze modewoorden. Verhalen is een vaardigheid waarvan het belang misschien wordt onderschat in academische kringen, waar andere aspecten van de kunst van de historicus tegenwoordig hoger worden gewaardeerd. Toch moet de moeilijkheid om de spanning vast te houden en de lezer te boeien meer dan 600 pagina's van een bekend verhaal niet worden onderschat. In die taak slaagt McDonough bewonderenswaardig.

McDonough is ook geruststellend verstandig in de historiografische posities die hij inneemt. Hij dwaalt af in de richting van de structuralistische kijk op de Holocaust, bijvoorbeeld door te concluderen dat die monsterlijke misdaad 'niet zo gecoördineerd of vooraf bepaald was als vaak wordt verondersteld'. Hij vernietigt ook de opvatting, die nu gelukkig vrij zeldzaam is onder serieuze commentatoren, dat alleen Hitler de drijvende kracht was achter de gebeurtenissen, wat suggereert dat de Führer en zijn hogere bevelhebbers veel meer eensgezind waren in visie en intentie dan de laatste ooit bereid waren toe te geven.

Ondanks zijn indrukwekkende verhaallijn, De Hitlerjaren is aantoonbaar op zijn best wanneer het een omweg maakt naar discrete, vaste uitweidingen, zoals die over de White Rose-protesten onder leiding van de student Sophie Scholl - een onderwerp dat de auteur bijzonder na aan het hart ligt - of de bomaanslag in Stauffenberg van juli 1944. In deze gebieden is McDonough een trefzekere gids, net zo zelfverzekerd in het relateren van de details als hij is aan het grotere geheel en bedreven in het samenvoegen van de twee tot een samenhangend geheel.

Er zijn natuurlijk een paar kanttekeningen. Een boek met zo'n brede reikwijdte als dit zou baat hebben gehad bij een paar extra kaarten en sommige van de bestaande kaarten zouden baat hebben gehad bij een specialistisch oog. Ook, hoewel het begrijpelijk is dat de primaire focus zou moeten liggen op gebeurtenissen in de verschillende militaire theaters, zouden een paar extra omleidingen naar het Duitse thuisfront goed hebben gediend om beter uit te leggen hoe dat land de strijd voortzette lang nadat de mogelijkheid van overwinning was ontgaan het.

Maar dit zijn kleine punten. De Hitlerjaren is geen halfslachtige herhaling, het is een traktatie van verhalende geschiedenis. Het is misschien een beetje dun over nieuwigheid, maar het is een prachtig synthesewerk en als zodanig is het even leesbaar als gezaghebbend. Zelden is het weerzinwekkende verhaal van het Derde Rijk zo elegant gepresenteerd.

De Hitlerjaren: Ramp 1940-1945
Frank McDonough
Hoofd van Zeus 656pp £35

Roger Moorhouses nieuwste boek is Eerste om te vechten: de Poolse oorlog 1939 (Het Bodley-hoofd, 2019).


Vandaag in de geschiedenis: geboren op 27 juni

Hendrik VIII, koning van Engeland (1509-1547), stichter van de Kerk van Engeland.

Peter Paul Rubens, Vlaamse schilder.

Jean Jacques Rousseau, Frans sociaal filosoof (Het sociaal contract).

Luigi Pirandello, Italiaans toneelschrijver (Zes personages op zoek naar een auteur).

Alexis Carrel, Nobelprijswinnende Franse chirurg en bioloog.

Esther Forbes, auteur (Johnny Tremain).

Richard Rodgers, Amerikaanse componist.

Maria Goeppert Mayer, Nobelprijswinnaar natuurkundige.

Eric Ambler , Britse mysterieschrijver (De donkere grens, Ongewoon gevaar).

Mel Brooks, komiek, acteur en regisseur (De producenten, Brandende zadels).


Beschikbare problemen

The Innes recensie is een volledig peer-reviewed tijdschrift dat de studie van de geschiedenis van het katholieke Schotland promoot. Het behandelt alle aspecten van de Schotse geschiedenis en cultuur, vooral die met betrekking tot religieuze geschiedenis.

Het wordt sinds 1950 continu gepubliceerd door de Scottish Catholic Historical Association en bevat artikelen en boekbesprekingen over een breed gebied van kerkelijke, culturele, liturgische, architecturale, literaire en politieke geschiedenis van de vroegste tijden tot heden. Het is vernoemd naar Thomas Innes (1662-1744), een missionaris, historicus en archivaris van het Scots College in Parijs wiens onpartijdige wetenschap opviel tussen de denominationele vooroordelen van die tijd.

Redactie en redactieraad

Editor

Dr. John Reuben Davies (Universiteit van Glasgow)

Assistent redacteur

Dr. Linden Bicket (Universiteit van Edinburgh)

Beoordelingenbewerker

Dr. Miles Kerr-Peterson (Universiteit van Glasgow)
Stuur boeken ter beoordeling naar Miles Kerr-Peterson, c/o 45 Grovepark Street, Glasgow, G20 7NZ

Redactieraad

Professor Dauvit Broun (Universiteit van Glasgow)
Professor S.J. Brown (Universiteit van Edinburgh)
Professor Thomas Owen Clancy (Universiteit van Glasgow)
Professor David N. Dumville (Universiteit van Aberdeen)
Professor John J. Haldane (Universiteit van St. Andrews)
Professor Máire Herbert (University College, Cork)
Dr. S. Karly Kehoe (Saint Mary's University, Canada)
Professor Michael Lynch (Universiteit van Edinburgh)
Professor Graeme Morton (Universiteit van Dundee)
Professor Clotilde Prunier (Université Paris Nanterre)
Dr. Steven Reid (Universiteit van Glasgow)
Professor Daniel Szechi (Universiteit van Manchester)
Dr. Eila Williamson (Universiteit van Glasgow)

Maatschappij

De Scottish Catholic Historical Association promoot de studie van het religieuze verleden van Schotland in al zijn facetten. Het doet dit voornamelijk via zijn tijdschrift The Innes recensie die sinds 1950 onafgebroken is gepubliceerd.

The Innes recensie is gewijd aan de studie van de rol van de katholieke kerk in de geschiedenis van de Schotse natie. Het is genoemd naar Thomas Innes (1662-1744), een missionaris, historicus en archivaris van het Scots College in Parijs wiens onpartijdige geleerdheid en behulpzame samenwerking veel hebben bijgedragen om de denominationele vooroordelen van zijn tijd te overwinnen.

De Scottish Catholic Historical Association houdt jaarlijkse conferenties. Klik hier voor meer informatie over de Verenigingsconferenties. Eerdere conferenties waren gericht op 'Glasgow - een verhaal dat het vertellen waard is' (2008), 'Diaspora' (2009) en 'Liturgy and the Nation' (2010).'

Individuele abonnementen op The Innes recensie waaronder het lidmaatschap van de Vereniging. Klik hier voor informatie over hoe u zich kunt abonneren op het tijdschrift en lid kunt worden van de Vereniging.

Klik hier voor meer informatie over de Scottish Catholic Historical Association.


Review: Volume 35 - Militaire geschiedenis - Geschiedenis

Een Indiase kijk op Indiase zaken.
Digitale geschiedenis-ID 4054

annotatie: Chief Joseph in de Noord-Amerikaanse recensie.


Document: Een Indiase kijk op Indiase zaken.

Ik zou willen dat ik woorden tot mijn beschikking had om de belangstelling waarmee ik het volgende buitengewone verhaal heb gelezen, adequaat uit te drukken en dat ik het voorrecht heb om aan de lezers van deze recensie voor te stellen. Ik heb echter het gevoel dat deze verontschuldiging zo brutaal wordt gekenmerkt door de charmante naïviteit en tedere pathos die de rode man kenmerken, dat ze geen introductie behoeft, laat staan ​​enige authenticatie terwijl ze in het gesmoorde vuur is, in zijn diepe gevoel van eeuwige gerechtigheid en van het huidige kwaad, en in zijn hoopvolle verlangen naar de komst van een betere tijd, herinnert de oproep van dit Indiase opperhoofd ons aan een van de oude Hebreeuwse profeten uit de dagen van de ballingschap.

Ik heb geen speciale kennis van de geschiedenis van de Nez Perces, de Indianen wier verhaal van verdriet Chief Joseph zo aandoenlijk vertelt over mijn Indiase missies die in een deel in het Westen ver van hun oude huis liggen - en ik ben niet bevoegd om hun zaak te beoordelen op zijn verdiensten. Het verhaal van de chef is natuurlijk ex parte, en veel van zijn verklaringen zouden ongetwijfeld vurig worden betwist. Generaal Howard kan bijvoorbeeld nauwelijks gerechtigheid krijgen, zo bekend is hij om zijn vriendschap met de Indiaan en om zijn opmerkelijke succes bij het kalmeren van enkele van de meest wanhopigen.

Om recht te doen aan het leger, moet er ook aan worden herinnerd dat het zelden wordt gevraagd om zich in Indiase aangelegenheden te mengen totdat de betrekkingen tussen de Indianen en de blanken een wanhopige toestand hebben bereikt, en wanneer de situatie van zaken zo ingewikkeld en gevoel aan beide kanten loopt zo hoog op dat misschien alleen meer dan menselijke verdraagzaamheid zou proberen de moeilijkheid op te lossen door de knoop te ontwarren en niet door hem door te snijden.

Niettemin wordt het verhaal van de chef gekenmerkt door zoveel openhartigheid, en hij is zo zorgvuldig om zijn uitspraken te nuanceren, wanneer kwalificatie noodzakelijk lijkt, dat elke lezer hem de eer zal geven om zijn eerlijke uitspraken te doen, zelfs als sommigen denken dat ze zich vergissen, overtuigingen. De chef herinnert bij zijn behandeling van zijn verdediging een van die advocaten van wie we hebben gehoord dat hun geweldige succes niet werd behaald door dispuut, maar eenvoudig door hun heldere en ongecompliceerde uiteenzetting van hun zaak. Dat hij zowel een soort strateeg als een pleitbezorger is, blijkt uit deze beschrijving van een gebeurtenis die plaatsvond kort na het uitbreken van de vijandelijkheden:

We staken Salmon River over, in de hoop dat generaal Howard zou volgen. We werden niet teleurgesteld. Hij volgde ons, en we kwamen tussen hem en zijn voorraden in en sloten hem drie dagen af. Af en toe stuit de lezer op aanrakingen van die gevoelens en gevoelens die meteen een gevoel van verwantschap tot stand brengen tussen allen die ze bezitten. Witness his description of his desperate attempt to rejoin his wife and children when a sudden dash of General Miles’s soldiers had cut the Indian camp in two: About seventy men, myself among them, were cut off. . . . I thought of my wife and children, who were now surrounded by soldiers, and I resolved to go to them. With a prayer in my mouth to the Great Spirit Chief who rules above, I dashed unarmed through the line of soldiers. . . . My clothes were cut to pieces, my horse was wounded, but I was not hurt. And again, when he speaks of his father’s death: I saw he was dying. I took his hand in mine. He said: “My son, my body is returning to my mother Earth, and my spirit is going very soon to see the Great Spirit Chief. A few more years and the white men will be all around you. They have their eyes on this land. My son, never forget my dying words. This country holds your father’s body--never sell the bones of your father and your mother. I pressed my father’s hand, and told him I would protect his grave with my life. My father smiled, and passed away to the spirit-land. I buried him in that beautiful valley of Winding Waters. I love that land more than all the rest of the world. A man who would not love his father’s grave is worse than a wild animal.”

His appeals to the natural rights of man are surprisingly fine, and, however some may despise them as the utterances of an Indian, they are just those which, in our Declaration of Independence, have been most admired. “We are all sprung from a woman,” he says, “although we are unlike in many things. You are as you were made, and, as you were made, you can remain. We are just as we were made by the Great Spirit, and you can not change us then, why should children of one mother quarrel? Why should one try to cheat another? I do not believe that the Great Spirit Chief gave one kind of men the right to tell another kind of men what they must do.”

But I will not detain the readers of the “Review” from the pleasure of perusing for themselves Chief Josephs statement longer than is necessary to express the hope that those who have time for no more will at least read its closing paragraph, and to remark that the narrative brings clearly out these facts which ought to be regarded as well-recognized principles in dealing with the red-man: 1. The folly of any mode of treatment of the Indian which is not based upon a cordial and operative acknowledgment of his rights as our fellow man. 2. The danger of riding rough-shod over a people who are capable of high enthusiasm, who know and value their national rights, and are brave enough to defend them. 3. The liability to want of harmony between different departments and different officials of our complex Government, from which it results that, while many promises are made to the Indians, few of them are kept. It is a home-thrust when Chief Joseph says: “The white people have too many chiefs. They do not understand each other. . . . I can not understand how the Government sends a man out to fight us, as it did General Miles, and then break his word. Such a Government has something wrong about it.” 4. The unwisdom, in most cases in dealing with Indians, of what may be termed military short-cuts , instead of patient discussion, explanations, persuasion, and reasonable concessions. 5. The absence in an Indian tribe of any truly representative body competent to make a treaty which shall be binding upon all the bands. The failure to recognize this fact has been the source of endless difficulties. Chief Joseph, in this case, did not consider a treaty binding which his band had not agreed to, no matter how many other bands had signed it and so it has been in many other cases. 6. Indian chiefs, however able and influential, are really without power, and for this reason, as well as others, the Indians, when by the march of events they are brought into intimate relations with the whites, should at the earliest practicable moment be given the support and protection of our Government and of our law not local law, however, which is apt to be the result of special legislation, adopted solely in the interest of the stronger race.

WILLIAM II. HARE, Missionary Bishop of Niobrara.

My friends, I have been asked to show you my heart. I am glad to have a chance to do so. I want the white people to understand my people. Some of you think an Indian is like a wild animal. This is a great mistake. I will tell you all about our people, and then you can judge whether an Indian is a man or not. I believe much trouble and blood would be saved if we opened our hearts more. I will tell you in my way how the Indian sees things. The white man has more words to tell you how they look to him, but it does not require many words to speak the truth. What I have to say will come from my heart, and I will speak with a straight tongue. Ah-cum-kin-i-ma-me-hut (the Great Spirit) is looking at me, and will hear me.

My name is In-mut-too-yah-lat-lat (Thunder traveling over the Mountains). I am chief of the Wal-lam-wat-kin band of Chute-pa-lu, or Nez Perces (nose-pierced Indians). I was born in eastern Oregon, thirty-eight winters ago. My father was chief before me. When a young man, he was called Joseph by Mr. Spaulding, a missionary. He died a few years ago. There was no stain on his hands of the blood of a white man. He left a good name on the earth. He advised me well for my people.

Our fathers gave us many laws, which they had learned from their fathers. These laws were good. They told us to treat all men as they treated us that we should never be the first to break a bargain that it was a disgrace to tell a lie that we should speak only the truth that it was a shame for one man to take from another his wife, or his property without paying for it. We were taught to believe that the Great Spirit sees and hears everything, and that he never forgets that hereafter he will give every man a spirit-home according to his deserts: if he has been a good man, he will have a good home if he has been a bad man, he will have a bad home. This I believe, and all my people believe the same.

We did not know there were other people besides the Indian until about one hundred winters ago, when some men with white faces came to our country. They brought many things with them to trade for furs and skins. They brought tobacco, which was new to us. They brought guns with flint stones on them, which frightened our women and children. Our people could not talk with these white-faced men, but they used signs which all people understand. These men were Frenchmen, and they called our people ”Nez Perces,” because they wore rings in their noses for ornaments. Although very few of our people wear them now, we are still called by the same name. These French trappers said a great many things to our fathers, which have been planted in our hearts. Some were good for us, but some were bad. Our people were divided in opinion about these men. Some thought they taught more bad than good. An Indian respects a brave man, but he despises a coward. He loves a straight tongue, but he hates a forked tongue. The French trappers told us some truths and some lies.

The first white men of your people who came to our country were named Lewis and Clarke. They also brought many things that our people had never seen. They talked straight, and our people gave them a great feast, as a proof that their hearts were friendly. These men were very kind. They made presents to our chiefs and our people made presents to them. We had a great many horses, of which we gave them what they needed, and they gave us guns and tobacco in return. All the Nez Perces made friends with Lewis and Clarke, and agreed to let them pass through their country, and never to make war on white men. This promise the Nez Perces have never broken. No white man can accuse them of bad faith, and speak with a straight tongue. It has always been the pride of the Nez Perces that they were the friends of the white men. When my father was a young man there came to our country a white man (Rev. Mr. Spaulding) who talked spirit law. He won the affections of our people because he spoke good things to them. At first he did not say anything about white men wanting to settle on our lands. Nothing was said about that until about twenty winters ago, when a number of white people came into our country and built houses and made farms. At first our people made no complaint. They thought there was room enough for all to live in peace, and they were learning many things from the white men that seemed to be good. But we soon found that the white men were growing rich very fast, and were greedy to possess everything the Indian had. My father was the first to see through the schemes of the white men, and he warned his tribe to be careful about trading with them. He had suspicion of men who seemed so anxious to make money. I was a boy then, but I remember well my father’s caution. He had sharper eyes than the rest of our people.

Next there came a white officer (Governor Stevens), who invited all the Nez Perces to a treaty council. After the council was opened he made known his heart. He said there were a great many white people in the country, and many more would come that he wanted the land marked out so that the Indians and white men could be separated. If they were to live in peace it was necessary, he said, that the Indians should have a country set apart for them, and in that country they must stay. My father, who represented his band, refused to have anything to do with the council, because he wished to be a free man. He claimed that no man owned any part of the earth, and a man could not sell what he did not own.

Mr. Spaulding took hold of my fathers arm and said, “Come and sign the treaty.” My father pushed him away, and said: “Why do you ask me to sign away my country? It is your business to talk to us about spirit matters, and not to talk to us about parting with our land.” Governor Stevens urged my father to sign his treaty, but he refused. “I will not sign your paper,” he said “you go where you please, so do I you are not a child, I am no child I can think for myself. No man can think for me. I have no other home than this. I will not give it up to any man. My people would have no home. Take away your paper. I will not touch it with my hand.”

My father left the council. Some of the chiefs of the other bands of the Nez Perces signed the treaty, and then Governor Stevens gave them presents of blankets. My father cautioned his people to take no presents, for “after a while,” he said, “they will claim that you have accepted pay for your country.” Since that time four bands of the Nez Perces have received annuities from the United States. My father was invited to many councils, and they tried hard to make him sign the treaty, but he was firm as the rock, and would not sign away his home. His refusal caused a difference among the Nez Perces.

Eight years later (1863) was the next treaty council. A chief called Lawyer, because he was a great talker, took the lead in this council, and sold nearly all the Nez Perces country. My father was not there. He said to me: “When you go into council with the white man, always remember your country. Do not give it away. The white man will cheat you out of your home. I have taken no pay from the United States. I have never sold our land.” In this treaty Lawyer acted without authority from our band. He had no right to sell the Wallowa (winding water) country. That had always belonged to my fathers own people, and the other bands had never disputed our right to it. No other Indians ever claimed Wallowa.

In order to have all people understand how much land we owned, my father planted poles around it and said:

The United States claimed they had bought all the Nez Perces country outside of Lapwai Reservation, from Lawyer and other chiefs, but we continued to live on this land in peace until eight years ago, when white men began to come inside the bounds my father had set. We warned them against this great wrong, but they would not leave our land, and some bad blood was raised. The white men represented that we were going upon the war-path. They reported many things that were false.

The United States Government again asked for a treaty council. My father had become blind and feeble. He could no longer speak for his people. It was then that I took my fathers place as chief. In this council I made my first speech to white men. I said to the agent who held the council:

The agent said he had orders, from the Great White Chief at Washington, for us to go upon the Lapwai Reservation, and that if we obeyed he would help us in many ways. “You must move to the agency,” he said. I answered him: “I will not. I do not need your help we have plenty, and we are contented and happy if the white man will let us alone. The reservation is too small for so many people with all their stock. You can keep your presents we can go to your towns and pay for all we need we have plenty of horses and cattle to sell, and we won’t have any help from you we are free now we can go where we please. Our fathers were born here. Here they lived, here they died, here are their graves. We will never leave them.” The agent went away, and we had peace for a little while.

Soon after this my father sent for me. I saw he was dying. I took his hand in mine. He said: “My son, my body is returning to my mother earth, and my spirit is going very soon to see the Great Spirit Chief. When I am gone, think of your country. You are the chief of these people. They look to you to guide them. Always remember that your father never sold his country. You must stop your ears whenever you are asked to sign a treaty selling your home. A few years more and white men will be all around you. They have their eyes on this land. My son, never forget my dying words. This country holds your fathers body. Never sell the bones of your father and your mother.” I pressed my fathers hand and told him I would protect his grave with my life. My father smiled and passed away to the spirit-land.

I buried him in that beautiful valley of winding waters. I love that land more than all the rest of the world. A man who would not love his father’s grave is worse than a wild animal.

For a short time we lived quietly. But this could not last. White men had found gold in the mountains around the land of winding water. They stole a great many horses from us, and we could not get them back because we were Indians. The white men told lies for each other. They drove off a great many of our cattle. Some white men branded our young cattle so they could claim them. We had no friend who would plead our cause before the law councils. It seemed to me that some of the white men in Wallowa were doing these things on purpose to get up a war. They knew that we were not strong enough to fight them. I labored hard to avoid trouble and bloodshed. We gave up some of our country to the white men, thinking that then we could have peace. We were mistaken. The white man would not let us alone. We could have avenged our wrongs many times, but we did not. Whenever the Government has asked us to help them against other Indians, we have never refused. When the white men were few and we were strong we could have killed them all off, but the Nez Perces wished to live at peace.

If we have not done so, we have not been to blame. I believe that the old treaty has never been correctly reported. If we ever owned the land we own it still, for we never sold it. In the treaty councils the commissioners have claimed that our country had been sold to the Government. Suppose a white man should come to me and say, “Joseph, I like your horses, and I want to buy them.” I say to him, “No, my horses suit me, I will not sell them.” Then he goes to my neighbor, and says to him: “Joseph has some good horses. I want to buy them, but he refuses to sell.” My neighbor answers, “Pay me the money, and I will sell you Joseph’s horses.” The white man returns to me, and says, “Joseph, I have bought your horses, and you must let me have them.” If we sold our lands to the Government, this is the way they were bought.

On account of the treaty made by the other bands of the Nez Perces, the white men claimed my lands. We were troubled greatly by white men crowding over the line. Some of these were good men, and we lived on peaceful terms with them, but they were not all good.

Nearly every year the agent came over from Lapwai and ordered us on to the reservation. We always replied that we were satisfied to live in Wallowa. We were careful to refuse the presents or annuities which he offered.

Through all the years since the white men came to Wallowa we have been threatened and taunted by them and the treaty Nez Perces. They have given us no rest. We have had a few good friends among white men, and they have always advised my people to bear these taunts without fighting. Our young men were quick-tempered, and I have had great trouble in keeping them from doing rash things. I have carried a heavy load on my back ever since I was a boy. I learned then that we were but few, while the white men were many, and that we could not hold our own with them. We were like deer. They were like grizzly bears. We had a small country. Their country was large. We were contented to let things remain as the Great Spirit Chief made them. They were not and would change the rivers and mountains if they did not suit them.

Year after year we have been threatened, but no war was made upon my people until General Howard came to our country two years ago and told us that he was the white war-chief of all that country. He said: “I have a great many soldiers at my back. I am going to bring them up here, and then I will talk to you again. I will not let white men laugh at me the next time I come. The country belongs to the Government, and I intend to make you go upon the reservation.”

I remonstrated with him against bringing more soldiers to the Nez Perces country. He had one house full of troops all the time at Fort Lapwai.

The next spring the agent at Umatilla agency sent an Indian runner to tell me to meet General Howard at Walla Walla. I could not go myself, but I sent my brother and five other head men to meet him, and they had a long talk.

General Howard said: “You have talked straight, and it is all right. You can stay in Wallowa.” He insisted that my brother and his company should go with him to Fort Lapwai. When the party arrived there General Howard sent out runners and called all the Indians in to a grand council. I was in that council. I said to General Howard, “We are ready to listen.” He answered that he would not talk then, but would hold a council next day, when he would talk plainly. I said to General Howard: “I am ready to talk today. I have been in a great many councils, but I am no wiser. We are all sprung from a woman, although we are unlike in many things. We can not be made over again. You are as you were made, and as you were made you can remain. We are just as we were made by the Great Spirit, and you can not change us then why should children of one mother and one father quarrel—why should one try to cheat the other? I do not believe that the Great Spirit Chief gave one kind of men the right to tell another kind of men what they must do.”

General Howard replied: “You deny my authority, do you? You want to dictate to me, do you?”

Then one of my chiefs--Too-hool-hool-suit--rose in the council and said to General Howard: “The Great Spirit Chief made the world as it is, and as he wanted it, and he made a part of it for us to live upon. I do not see where you get authority to say that we shall not live where he placed us.”

General Howard lost his temper and said: “Shut up! I don’t want to hear any more of such talk. The law says you shall go upon the reservation to live, and I want you to do so, but you persist in disobeying the law (meaning the treaty). If you do not move, I will take the matter into my own hand, and make you suffer for your disobedience.”

Too-hool-hool-suit answered: “Who are you, that you ask us to talk, and then tell me I sha’nt talk? Are you the Great Spirit? Did you make the world? Did you make the sun? Did you make the rivers to run for us to drink? Did you make the grass to grow? Did you make all these things, that you talk to us as though we were boys? If you did, then you have the right to talk as you do.”

General Howard replied, “You are an impudent fellow, and I will put you in the guard-house, and then ordered a soldier to arrest him.”

Too-hool-hool-suit made no resistance. He asked General Howard: “Is that your order? I don’t care. I have expressed my heart to you. I have nothing to take back. I have spoken for my country. You can arrest me, but you can not change me or make me take back what I have said.”

The soldiers came forward and seized my friend and took him to the guard-house. My men whispered among themselves whether they should let this thing be done. I counseled them to submit. I knew if we resisted that all the white men present, including General Howard would be killed in a moment, and we would be blamed. If I had said nothing, General Howard would never have given another unjust order against my men. I saw the danger, and, while they dragged Too-hool-hool-suit to prison, I arose and said: “I am going to talk now. I don’t care whether you arrest me or not.” I turned to my people and said: “The arrest of Too-hool-hool-suit was wrong, but we will not resent the insult. We were invited to this council to express our hearts, and we have done so.” Too-hool-hool-suit was prisoner for five days before he was released.

The council broke up for that day. On the next morning General Howard came to my lodge, and invited me to go with him and White-Bird and Looking-Glass, to look for land for my people. As we rode along we came to some good land that was already occupied by Indians and white people. General Howard, pointing to this land, said: “If you will come on to the reservation, I will give you these lands and move these people off.”

I replied: “No. It would be wrong to disturb these people. I have no right to take their homes. I have never taken what did not belong to me. I will not now.”

We rode all day upon the reservation, and found no good land unoccupied. I have been informed by men who do not lie that General Howard sent a letter that night, telling the soldiers at Walla Walla to go to Wallowa Valley, and drive us out upon our return home.

In the council, next day, General Howard informed me, in a haughty spirit, that he would give my people thirty days to go back home, collect all their stock, and move on to the reservation, saying, “If you are not here in that time, I shall consider that you want to fight, and will send my soldiers to drive you on.”

I said: “War can be avoided, and it ought to be avoided. I want no war. My people have always been the friends of the white man. Why are you in such a hurry? I can not get ready to move in thirty days. Our stock is scattered, and Snake River is very high. Let us wait until fall, then the river will be low. We want time to hunt up our stock and gather supplies for winter.”

General Howard replied, “If you let the time run over one day, the soldiers will be there to drive you on to the reservation, and all your cattle and horses outside of the reservation at that time will fall into the hands of the white men.”

I knew I had never sold my country and that I had no land in Lapwai but I did not want bloodshed. I did not want my people killed. I did not want anybody killed. Some of my people had been murdered by white men, and the white murderers were never punished for it. I told General Howard about this, and again said I wanted no war. I wanted the people who lived upon the lands I was to occupy at Lapwai to have time to gather their harvest.

I said in my heart that, rather than have war, I would give up my country. I would give up my father’s grave. I would give up everything rather than have the blood of white men upon the hands of my people.

General Howard refused to allow me more than thirty days to move my people and their stock. I am sure that he began to prepare for war at once.

When I returned to Wallowa I found my people very much excited upon discovering that the soldiers were already in the Wallowa Valley. We held a council, and decided to move immediately to avoid bloodshed.

Too-hool-hool-suit, who felt outraged by his imprisonment, talked for war, and made many of my young men willing to fight rather than be driven like dogs from the land where they were born. He declared that blood alone would wash out the disgrace General Howard had put upon him. It required a strong heart to stand up against such talk, but I urged my people to be quiet, and not to begin a war.

We gathered all the stock we could find, and made an attempt to move. We left many of our horses and cattle in Wallowa, and we lost several hundred in crossing the river. All of my people succeeded in getting across in safety. Many of the Nez Perces came together in Rocky Canon to hold a grand council. I went with all my people. This council lasted ten days. There was a great deal of war-talk, and a great deal of excitement. There was one young brave present whose father had been killed by a white man five years before. This mans blood was bad against white men, and he left the council calling for revenge.

Again I counseled peace, and I thought the danger was past. We had not complied with General Howard’s order because we could not, but we intended to do so as soon as possible. I was leaving the council to kill beef for my family, when news came that the young man whose father had been killed had gone out with several other hot-blooded young braves and killed four white men. He rode up to the council and shouted: “Why do you sit here like women? The war has begun already.” I was deeply grieved. All the lodges were moved except my brothers and my own. I saw clearly that the war was upon us when I learned that my young men had been secretly buying ammunition. I heard then that Too-hool-hool-suit, who had been imprisoned by General Howard, had succeeded in organizing a war-party. I knew that their acts would involve all my people. I saw that the war could not then be prevented. The time had passed. I counseled peace from the beginning. I knew that we were too weak to fight the United States. We had many grievances, but I knew that war would bring more. We had good white friends, who advised us against taking the war-path. My friend and brother, Mr. Chapman, who has been with us since the surrender, told us just how the war would end. Mr. Chapman took sides against us, and helped General Howard. I do not blame him for doing so. He tried hard to prevent bloodshed. We hoped the white settlers would not join the soldiers. Before the war commenced we had discussed this matter all over, and many of my people were in favor of warning them that if they took no part against us they should not be molested in the event of war being begun by General Howard. This plan was voted down in the war-council.

There were bad men among my people who had quarreled with white men, and they talked of their wrongs until they roused all he bad hearts in the council. Still I could not believe that they would begin the war. I know that my young men did a great wrong, but I ask, “Who was first to blame?” They had been insulted a thousand times their fathers and brothers had been killed their mothers and wives had been disgraced they had been driven to madness by whisky sold to them by white men they had been told by General Howard that all their horses and cattle which they had been unable to drive out of Wallowa were to fall into the hands of white men and, added to all this, they were homeless and desperate.

I would have given my own life if I could have undone the killing of white men by my people. I blame my young men and I blame the white men. I blame General Howard for not giving my people time to get their stock away from Wallowa. I do not acknowledge that he had the right to order me to leave Wallowa at any time. I deny that either my father

Additional information: [The North American review. / Volume 128, Issue 269, April 1879]